Orpheus Britannicus

Orpheus Britannicus

Principal players of the acclaimed period instrument ensemble, Orpheus Britannicus, present a beautiful selection of chamber works by three giants of the Baroque: J.S. Bach, Handel & Telemann.

Full to the brim with sublime melody, intricate contrapuntal dialogue and harmonic depth, their programme offers a fascinating exploration of musical texture and includes two of J.S. Bach’s most innovative instrumental sonatas which feature the harpsichord in an equal partnering obligato role with the violin (BWV 1016) and viola da gamba (BWV 1027).  

Theresa Caudle Violin
Henrik Persson Viola da Gamba
Andrew Arthur Harpsichord

Concert duration: approximately 60 minutes with no interval.

This concert is in collaboration with the Kellaway Concert Series at St Catharine’s College.

St Catharine's College logo

St Catharine's Chapel (map)
Fri 26 Jan 2024 18:00
Adult £27.50 F/T Student £7.50 (ID required) Under 18 no charge

Book tickets

Other events which you may like