07th August 2020Portrait of early music specialist Silas Wollston.Photo by Tim Gander. © Tim Gander 2020. All rights reserved. Read MoreButterfield Adrian Butterfield, violin and Silas Wollston, harpsichord

A selection of Bach’s masterful violin sonatas performed on Bach’s birthday by two sympathetic and gifted interpreters of his music, violinist Adrian Butterfield and harpsichordist Silas Wollston. Full of imagination, intricate detail and sublime beauty, these works are also innovative in their exploration of texture and their placing of the harpsichord on an equal footing with the violin.

The concert includes the following sonatas: B minor BWV 1014, E major BWV 1016, E minor BWV 1023 and G major BWV 1019 (with the ‘Aria’ as the third movement 3).

This concert also marks Early Music Day.

In collaboration with the Kellaway Concert Series at St Catharine’s

St Catherine's College logo

Concert duration: 60 minutes without interval

St Catharine's Chapel
Tue 21 Mar 2023 19:00
Standard £15.00 F/T Student/Under 18 £5.00 (Students to show ID on the door) Early Booking £15.00 (Friends, Patrons & Benefactors)

Book tickets

Other events which you may like